Top 12 Unknown Facts Of Ipl History

The 10th edition of the Indian Premier League got underway on 5th April 2017. The previous 9 editions have witnessed plenty of high voltage action and drama. IPL has seen many records getting broken, many feats being achieved in this span of 9 years. Just like other big tournaments, IPL also has many unusual and unknown facts which can bewilder even for the most die hard IPL fans who have been following the league since its inception. Here, we have selected 12 unknown facts about the league. Let's take a look.

1. Dhoni is the only captain to have searved his franchise for all seasons continuously.

MS Dhoni is the only captain in Ipl history who has been the captain of CSK for all seasons of IPL and after joining Rising Pune Supergiants become captain of it. 

But unfortunately Pune Team Replaced MS for the Ipl 10 season with Steve Smith.

2. KKR or Mumbai Indian Play in Every 1st Match of Ipl Season

You will either see KKR or MI in every opening match of IPL seasons that has happened so far. But IPL 2017 will feature Sunrisers Hyderabad against Royal Challengers Bangalore. And KXIP have never been featured in the 1st game of IPL in any season so far.

IPL 1st Matches Scheduled.

1st match: RCB v KKR at Bangalore, Apr 18, 2008
1st match: CSK v MI at Cape Town, Apr 18, 2009
1st match: DC v KKR at Mumbai, Mar 12, 2010
1st match: CSK v KKR at Chennai, Apr 8, 2011
1st match: CSK v MI at Chennai, Apr 4, 2012
1st match: KKR v DD at Kolkata, Apr 3, 2013
1st match: MI v KKR at Abu Dhabi, Apr 16, 2014
1st match: KKR v MI at Kolkata, Apr 8, 2015
1st match: MI vs RPS at Mumbai, Apr 9, 2016
1st match: RCB vs SH at Hyderabad, Apr 5, 2017

3. Shikhar Dhawan can bowl too!

Yes, you only have seen Shikhar Dhawan with the bat but guess what, he can bowl too. In IPL 2011 and IPL 2012, Shikhar Dhawan had bowled for as many as 8 overs and had picked up 4 wickets as well.

4. Sachin Tendulkar,Robin Uthappa and Virat Kohli Only Indian Who baggged Orange Cap in 9 Ipl Seasons.

Orange cap is awarded to player who scored maximum number of runs in the season. If you watch closely, there are only three Indian players who bagged the cap. Sachin Tendulkar, Robin Uthappa and Virat Kohli are the only Indian players who bagged the cap in all versions of IPL.

5. Harbhajan Singh has Strike Rate Of 149.89

Indian off spinner Harbhajan Singh is very well know for his dhusra. But only few man has an over all strike rate of 149.89 strike rate in all IPL seasons.

6. Chris Gayle remained unsold in the 2011 auction

Yes, IPL’s most destructive batsman Chris Gayle remained unsold in the IPL auction in 2011. Later he came in as a replacement for fast bowler Dirk Nannes and scored over 600 runs in 2011.

7. Yusuf Pathan and Rohit Sharma are the only players who have won the tournament thrice

KKR’s big-hitting batsman Yusuf Pathan won first Ipl for RR in 2008, then he moved to KKR and won 2 trophies for KKR in 2012 and 2014.

Same way Rohit Sharma MI skipper share a rare feat which is unmatched by others. He  won the IPL with the Deccan Chargers in 2009 and then he moved to MI team and won 2 trophies for MI in 2013 and 2015.

8. Royal Challengers Bangalore is the only team which involved in all three 200 run partnerships

RCB team has a batting line-up that can intimidate any opposition. They have been involved in all three 200 run partnerships in IPL where they are on the receiving end once. They made 206 against KXIP in 2011, 204 against Delhi Daredevils in 2012 and 215 in 2015 against Mumbai Indians.

9. The Only Team which Never qualified for the final of IPL - Delhi Daredevils

The Delhi franchise is the only team who has never played the IPL final. Though Deccan and Sunrisers are two different teams but since they represent the same city i.e. Hyderabad, so it is only Delhi who has never played the coveted IPL final. 

10. The Player Who made Most Fifties and Most Ducks - Gautam Gambhir

KKR Skipper has been one of the best performers in the IPL. He  has scored the most number of 50s in IPL. But there is a record that he would love to forget, the most number of ducks 11 times.

11. Played for 4 different teams but they were always in the same team - Manish Pandey and Robin Uthappa

Manish Pandey and Robin Uthappa These two teammates have played for the same team in the first 8 seasons so far. They played for  Mumbai Indians,  Royal Challengers Bangalore, Pune Warriors and Kolkata Knight Riders.

12. Played for six different franchises - Parthiv Patel and Aaron Finch

Parthiv Patel and Aaron Finch share a rare feat of playing for six IPL franchises.

Parthiv played for Chennai Super Kings, Kochi Tuskers, Deccan Chargers, Sunrisers Hyderabad, Royal Challengers Bangalore and Mumbai Indians and it surely is a unique feat. Aaron Finch has also played for six different franchises throughout his IPL career. They are Rajasthan Royals, Delhi Daredevils, Pune Warriors India, Sunrisers Hyderabad, Mumbai Indians and Gujarat Lions to complete almost a full circle.

So these are some IPL facts that we have for you so far. We appreciate if you can share this if you like it.

About Joy

Recommended Posts × +


Post a Comment