Ipl's Top 5 venues with most matches

The love for cricket in India is not restricted to a particular age group, which is why you will witness cricket fans of every age group thronging the stadiums during the IPL. The tenth edition of Ipl will be live from April 5. The months of April and May bring along a lot of joy and entertainment as it is the time for summer vacation.

At the begining of Ipl in 2008 only nine venues were used for the tournament, Bengaluru, Mumbai, Jaipur, Chennai, Mohali, Hyderabad, Navi Mumbai, Delhi and Kolkata. So far, after nine years, a total no. of 20 grounds across the country have hosted at least one IPL match.

Let's check the top five venues that have hosted the most number of Ipl matches in Ipl History.

1. MA Chidambaram Stadium Chennai – 23 Matches

The Chidambaram Stadium is the home ground of IPL’s past Chennai-based franchise, Chennai Super Kings (CSK). It has hosted 23 matches, the most by any stadium since the inception of the IPL. The stadium has a seating capacity of 38,000. Due to the presence of popular faces like Dhoni, Suresh Raina and Ravichandran Ashwin, it is generally jam-packed.

2. M Chinnaswamy Stadium Bengaluru – 21 Matches

The Royal Challengers Bangalore’s home ground, the Chinnaswamy Stadium has hosted 21 matches thus far. The last ipl final also hosted here, the stadium has a seating capacity of 38,300.

3. Eden Gardens Kolkata – 21 Matches

India's most popular and largest stadium with the seating capacity of 66,349 is home ground of KKR. Eden Gardens has hosted 21 matches for Ipl 9 seasons.

4. Feroz Shah Kotla Delhi – 21 Matches

Feroz Shah Kotla  is the home ground of the Delhi Daredevils, the side that has failed to impress time and again, despite featuring some talented players. It has the seating capacity of 41,820, has already hosted 21 matches for Ipl.

5. Sawai Mansingh Stadium Rajasthan – 13 Matches

Home ground of the first champions of the IPL Rajasthan Royals, based out of Jaipur and has capacity of 30,000. 13 IPL matches have been played there since the inaugural season in 2008. 

About Joy

Recommended Posts × +


Post a Comment